Primary navigation

Main content within the page
useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text useful alt text
Dunkeswell War Stories Follow BlackdownsAONB on Twitter


The Blackdown Hills AONB is managed by a partnership of public bodies, local organisations and voluntary groups with an active interest in the Hills.

Members of the Partnership work co-operatively to an agreed five year Management Plan and annual Business Plan, with the key funders being signatories to a six year Memorandum of Agreement.

The key funders of the AONB Partnership are Devon County Council, Somerset County Council, East Devon District Council, Mid Devon District Council, South Somerset District Council, Taunton Deane Borough Council and Defra.

Policy decisions are made by the Management Group, which consists of key funders plus elected representatives drawn from the AONB Partnership.

Management Group meetings are held three times a year, at locations throughout the Blackdown Hills. These meetings are open to the public.

2017 Management Group meetings 

  • Thursday 6th July 2017 - Tatworth & Forton Village Hall 10am - 12.30pm
  • Thursday 2nd November 2017 - venue to be decided 9.30am - 1.30pm


Previous minutes

July 2016

November 2016

March 2017



Blackdown Hills AONB Management Group members

Cllr Paul Diviani East Devon District Council (chair)
Cllr James Hunt  Somerset County Council
Cllr John Berry  Devon County Council
Cllr Martin Wale South Somerset District Council
Cllr Dave Durdan Taunton Deane Borough Council
Cllr Frank Rosamond Mid Devon District Council
David Westbrook  Natural England  
Heather Stallard Blackdown Hills Business Association  
David Northcote-Wright Somerset Wildlife Trust
Martin Turner  Blackdown Hills Hedge Association
Mark Pope  National Farmers Union 
Dr Margaret Hall Campaign to Protect Rural England
Simon Larkins National Trust
Gordon Field Blackdown Hills Artists & Makers
John Greenshields Blackdown & East Devon Woodland Association

Parish Network representatives
Bob Nelson
Jocelyn Pritchard Hemyock
Graham Long Upottery

Special Appointees to the Management Group
Bruce Payne (Vice Chair)
Elaine Hayes

Specific Points of Contact
Hugh Davey Environment Agency
Chris Sorensen Forestry Commission
Charlotte Russell Historic England




Latest Tweets

Other news

Walk, cycle and ride on our suggested routes around the Hills.

Click here to see all routes.

Planning a visit or looking for something to do this weekend? Check the Diary of Events here

End of Governance - About-us page - Return to Page Content Navigation